



Specialist Group on MODELLING & INTEGRATED ASSESSMENT (MIA)

End-of-Year Summary 2024

Activities

- Monthly online Management Committee (MC) meetings of the Modelling and Integrated Assessment Specialist Group (MIA SG) with active participation of most of the seniors and young water professionals (YWPs) MC members.
- 2 online YWP MIA MC meetings including mentoring sessions by experienced water professionals (EWPs).
- Organization of two webinars: (1) Bridging the gap between the water reuse community and water treatment model developers (January), (2) Good coding practice in WRRF modelling: Hands-on session (February).
- Maintaining the contents of the MIA website page up to date.
- Aligning the contents of the MIA page in the new platform <u>IWA Connect Plus</u> with the contents in the former IWA Connect.
- Keeping active the MIA SG social media accounts in <u>LinkedIn</u> and <u>Twitter</u>.
- Updating MIA's YouTube channel with the latest hosted MIA webinars/events.
- Regular updates of the status reports of Task Groups (TGs) and Working Groups (WGs) under the umbrella of MIA SG and keeping track of their activities through the liaison officers.
- Supporting the organization of the 9th IWA Water Resource Recovery Modelling Seminar (WRRmod2024), held in University of Notre Dame, USA on 6-10 April 2023.
- Call and voted for the organization of the 12th IWA Symposium on Modelling and Integrated Assessment (Watermatex 2027). It will be held in Setè, France on June 2027.
- Conducted the MIA SG Open Group meeting during World Water Conference & Exhibition.
- Call and voted for 5 new YWPs: Amr Ismail, Cheng Yang, Francisca Braga, Loes Vergaeghe, and Mostafa Khalil.
- Reorganization of the roles of MIA MC members and creation of new seniors and affiliated YWPs pairs.
- Expressing appreciation to the members who stepped down from their position during this year as MIA SG MC member: Lina Belia (Industrial insight officer), Giacomo Bellandi (TG and WG coordinator), Timothy Holoway (Industrial insight officer), Tri Le (YWP), Feiyi Li (YWP), Arifur Rahman (YWP), and Christoffer Warff (YWP).